Digital India is a drive launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 1st July 2015, which aims that Government services are made available to every individual electronically by a increasing Internet connectivity or by making the country digitally strong in the field of technology. The action includes plans to connect rural areas with Internet. Digital India consists of three main components,
(a) development of secure and stable digital infrastructure,
(b) delivering government services digitally, and
(c) universal digital literacy.

Focus areas

Government of India targets nine 'Pillars of the Digital India' as follows:
1. Broadband Highway
2. Universal Access to Mobile connectivity
3. Public Internet Access Programme
4. E-Governance, reforming Government through Technology
5. E-Kranti, electronic delivery of services
6. Information for All
7. Electronics Manufacturing
8. IT for Jobs
9. Early Harvest Programmes

Under the scheme

Digital India
Digital India
1. The service was launched to store important documents like Voter ID Card, Pan Card, BPL Card, Driving License, education certificates, etc. in the digital form or in a form of softcopy.
2. It enable users to digitally sign a document online using Aadhaar card.

3. This step aims at making the scholarship process easy. From submitting the application, verification, sanction and disbursal to end beneficiary, everything related to government scholarships can be done on this single portal online.
4. Online Registration System under this action enables people to use services like online registration, payment of fees and appointment, online diagnostic reports, checking on the availability of blood online, etc.
5. Electronic development fund will be set up to support the manufacturing of electronics products in the country that would help create new jobs and reduce import. The funds will also promote innovation.


The internet subscribers have increased to 500 million in India till April 2017. The country’s digital infrastructure, has created a common service centre for each panchayat, for which all post offices and CSCs are to be upgraded. As for broadband technology, India is better placed. According to a report by Akamai (a US-based content delivery and cloud service provider), India’s average broadband speed is 23.5 Mbps, which is really good.


Q1. Can private parties/ organizations/ individuals apply for awards under Digital India campaign?
Ans. Awards are only for Government entities.

Q2. Are PSU's eligible under Digital India campaign?
Ans. No, Awards are only for Government entities.

Q3. Can we have multiple nominations using one User ID under Digital India campaign?
Ans. Maximum one nomination per category per user is allowed. But multiple entries in different categories are allowed.

Q4. I have registered with my Email ID on the website but the activation link is not received under Digital India awards?
Ans. Please check the spam folder for the activation email, if still not received then drop us an email at "digitalindiaawards@gov.in" mentioning your Email ID.

Q5. How to Change the category for nomination under Digital India awards?
Ans. Nomination for the selected category needs to be completed/ submitted first, then all the other categories would be visible.

Q6. What is the format for authorization letter under Digital India awards?
Ans. The authorization letter format is available at http://digitalindiaawards.gov.in/assets/authorization-certificate-2016.docx

Q7. From Where do we get the security certificate for Digital India awards?
Ans. The security certificate needs to be obtained from any cert-in empaneled agency.


Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post